top of page

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • LinkedIn - Black Circle

Peggy Agar: A Passion for News


CLARKSTON, MI – Peggy Agar’s passion for news started at young age. “I’ve always wanted to be in the news, ever since seventh grade,” she remembered. “I wanted to find about things, learn about more and meet interesting people.”

As a news producer for ABC12 in Flint, Michigan, Peggy Agar has dedicated the last 22 years of her career to the news industry.

Peggy graduated from the University of Michigan with degrees in communication and American Culture. Throughout college she produced the morning news show on campus. When she graduated she reported in Cadillac, Michigan for two years. From there she transferred to Flint, Michigan. “You’re always trying to move to a bigger market,” she said “because with that comes more tools, more resources, more people, and more connections.” After four years in Flint she ventured to report in Kansas City for three years, still moving up to better markets. She then moved back to Michigan where she spent the next seven years reporting in Detroit (a top ten market). She currently is producing news in Flint, Michigan today.

Peggy has a variety of experience from reporting in different locations and in different markets in the Midwest. She has reported on many stories that have left a lasting impression and inspired her to continue her work in the news field.

“When I first started I did a story on a girl on a Wheaties box. She was a special Olympic athlete with downs syndrome. She spent her whole life thinking she couldn’t do anything but she accomplished a lot through Special Olympics. She got an apartment and was very happy and accomplished.” Peggy continued, “This story changed the way I looked at things. It made me think about having my own kids, and thinking that this could happen to them. It really changed the way I looked at things.”

Stories like the Wheaties story have shaped Peggy’s opinion on what it takes to be a reporter. “I think that you have to have a genuine curiosity in life. If you don’t naturally question things you don’t ask the right questions. You have to have courage to ask the questions because a lot of times it is uncomfortable. It’s hard to knock on someone’s door and interview someone who is upset after something like murder.”

Peggy’s biggest successes came from President Barack Obama. Peggy aired a story of Obama visiting a car plant in Michigan where he referred to Peggy as ‘sweetie.’

“I didn’t think anything about it and I took a nap and woke up with 17 voice messages from places like ABC News, The New York Times, and even Obama himself. He apologized for calling me sweetie and I got to go on different TV and radio to talk about it. The next time Obama came to Michigan I got to have a one-on-one interview with the president.”

A one-on-one interview with the president was a significant accomplishment in Peggy’s career. “After that experience, I felt like my hard work and long hours were finally paying off,” stated Peggy. “It’s not everyday that you get to ask Barack Obama questions. It just goes to show that if you’re passionate about something, like news, and take advantage of opportunities it can be really rewarding.”

With success comes hard work. During her last seven years in the field Peggy and her husband Mark started a family. She had to figure out how to balance her career and her new family. “News is definitely one of the careers that is 24 hours a day and seven days a week. You have to work holidays, there are no three-day weekends for Labor Day and you sometimes have to work on Thanksgiving or Christmas. It is not a nine to five job. It is a difficult career.” In the last few years Peggy has left reporting and started producing news.

Peggy is faced with the challenge of letting the stories of her daily job, positive or negative, impact her life. She explained, “It is hard to report on sad stories about families and children without thinking about my own kids. I report on a lot of scary and unpleasant things. I keep the terrible stories in the back of my mind but try not to let them get in the way of raising my children.”

Although Peggy believes it is a difficult career, she is devoted and passionate about journalism and the news industry. “I think people are impressed when they find out I am reporter because it takes a lot to be on TV,” said Peggy. “I want my kids to see how passionate I am about my career and how my hard work has paid off and hopefully they will be able to learn from it and find something they are equally as passionate about.” Peggy hopes that her passion for news is something that will inspire and motivate others.


bottom of page